Class News

1950-1959 Shortly before her death Dr. Ruth Couch ‘58 completed “The Noble Heritage of Harvey C. Couch School,” a history on this community school located in Calhoun, Ark. Dr. Couch has a great interest in preserving the history of community schools that have now been consolidated into larger districts. Dr. Couch passed away July 26, 2014. 1970-1979 Dr. Keith Lusby was inducted to the Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame at the 2014 ceremony. Pictured from left are Rosemary Lusby, Dr. Read More

Winter 2014 Class News

1940-1949 Dr. Betty F. Smith ’48 recently established a scholarship endowment to benefit a student from the Marysville/Mount Holly area. Judge W. Kelvin Wyrick ’58 has been recognized by both the Arkansas and Texas Bar Associations as he celebrated his 50th year of practicing law. 1950-1959 The Dr. Lionel Barton ’58 Scholarship endowment was recently initiated to benefit an SAU student interested in the poultry industry. Donations may be made to SAU Foundation, P.O. Box 9174, Magnolia, Ark. 71754. Dr. Read More

Summer 2013 Class News

1940-1949 Julius Elmore ’48 recently published “Stories of the Wracken Sacker: Reflections of the War Between the States.” He began the book to tell the story of his grandfather’s service from 1861-1865, but after several years of work he had compiled a history of many families in Columbia, Union, and Ouachita counties. Harold Fincher ’46 received the Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously at the 2013 Magnolia Chamber of Commerce Banquet. 1950-1959 Edward Cooper ’59 is faithful to share his musical talents Read More

Winter 2013 Class News

1950-1959 Thomas Jasiel Wilmoth ’50, has been selected as a member of the National Directory of Who’s Who for his creation of the first Credit Score System, now revised and expanded, and used by all Credit Reporting Agencies in this country. Donald “Buddy” Wray ’59, has been honored with the Distinguished Golden Mulerider Award from Southern Arkansas University. 1960-1969 John “Laddie” Lawrence ’69, was named as The Hour’s Coach of the Year for the 2011-2012 school year after leading the Read More

Summer 2012 Class News


1950-1959 James R. Staggs ’59, ’76 was recognized for his gifts to gospel music for over 60 years during the Men of Calvary’s 37th anniversary and reunion at Union Street Station in Magnolia on June 2. He was presented with congratulatory letters from personal friend and former governor Mike Huckabee along with former Cathedral Quartet members Scott Fowler, Gerald Wolfe, Mark Trammell and Danny Funderburke. The Arkansas State Senate and House of Representatives also awarded Mr. Staggs a citation for Read More